Rec diving philosophies? (vs. tec DIR/Hogarthian/etc...)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

boyoconnor

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm a novice diver (1 year+) with only a handful of real dives under my belt. Beyond cert I've taken Advanced Open Water, Altitude, Nitrox. In hindsight I feel like these courses together have prepared me to *begin* diving. Real practice with buoyancy and attitude, making all the big mistakes under controlled circumstances.

I've read the articles on tec diving philosophies - Hogarthian, DIR, etc. If I were to get into tec diving someday I can definitely see the value. But what about the rec divers?

The one thing I've struggled with is finding some nice concise info and source of ideas like "here's a suggestion on how to mount accessory XYZ". What works, what doesn't, and discussion about those things.

Example: Dangling straps and hoses. My BC came with 4 adjustment straps that, once properly adjusted, just dangle there. I'd attempt to reach a dump valve and inevitably I'd grab one of these. I've started modifying the strap D-rings so they hold close to the vest, and shortening extra long straps to fit me. I've spent hours practicing with different computer locations, retractors, clips, etc until I've found one that works. I've spent freaking WEEKS thinking about the best place to stow a safety whistle. (Still haven't decided.)