prescription vs. non; leaky vs. dry

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

daniellef

Registered
Reaction score
Hello - I am a novice diver and I have 2 masks, one that my sister gave me (an Oceanic Mini Shadow) and one that I bought w/prescription lenses for scuba class (an H2Odyssea Alpha 2). Obviously I can see with the Alpha 2 but unless I jam it down on my nose so hard I get a bruise, it leaks. The Oceanic fits perfectly and I love how lightweight it is but it can't be fitted with any lenses, even just the magnifying kind and so everything is blurry.

Short of getting contacts, does anyone have any reccomendations?

thanks --danielle

get another mask that fits that you can put lenses in Mares Tusa and many others make then

try them in the pool without prescrition lenses first and see if the mask fits correctly - then invest in the lenses

why not give the disposable contacts a try- I decided to do this specifically for diving a few months back and It's a big improvement. I can now wear any mask and can still see when the masks off!

Phil

Where you fitted for the Rx mask when you bought it? Just wondering b/c I just bought a Rx mask and the shop spent about 20min with me helping me find a good fit. However... I haven't tried it out yet (will be doing that this weekend) and I sure hope it works. I have also used contacts when diving and the only problem I had was they were torc lenses which shifted around a bit. Most people don't require those and everyone I have talked to has had no problems with contacts.