olympus dilemma?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jonahfab

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I have been using a 5050, pt015, and inon strobe for the past two years and am finally starting to get pretty comfortable with it. I am now looking at buying the macro lenses, wal, and such for it. This is where the dilemma comes in, the little voice in the back of my head keeps telling me they don't make this camera anymore, and from recent searches on ebay I see the stock is definitely dwindling. I fear that my camera is going to get trashed somehow, and now I'll have all this gear that can only be used for the 5050. I guess my question is would any of the lens be transferable to a different style camera and housing. I have also contemplated just buying a newer model olympus, but it looks as though they all now just use the xd card which the multible card holder was a really nice feature. Are there any olympus cameras out there that still support duel memory, or is it time to look at different brand camera? I know there is no perfect solution, but any help, advise, suggestions would be very much appreciated.

I know some lens can be used on the 7070, but the discontinued that one too. Best you ask where you plan to buy, they will know what else it fits on.

If I were you I would buy a second 5050 camera so you can continue using your setup without the fear of the camera dying and go forward with getting your lenses. Re-furbished cameras are fine. All my cameras are re-furbs.