Odd injury after a roll back entry...some thoughts and help?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jal102

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi everyone,

I've been diving for a little over 2 decades and happen to think it is the best hobby and sport on the planet. I was diving in Roatan for about a week in mid March and managed to do something oddly painful. One of the days we dove on a boat that was NOT a dive boat. They overbooked so we had a small capacity dingy looking boat for the day.

Entry was obviously a back roll where we had to watch our fins rolling back to not get caught in whatever was in front of us rom buckets to other items. On the first dive of the second day, my fin got caught in something on the way and the top of my left medial calf/back of my knee was incredibly painful once I entered the water. It was first throbbing and then quite painful but I ignored it and dove. Essentially I wasn't able to straighten my left leg since there was a lack of space and my fin was caught in some object as I rolled back. It felt NOT good.

Later that afternoon and for the following few days it was sore to the touch and felt like an overextended muscle or tendon at the top of my calf and right behind/below my knee. I kept diving and continued to enjoy every second of my vacation while icing it at night.