Nitrox PPO2 blending waiting period for homogenisation of mix

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

kawaboy

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hello all

I'm new to Nitrox, having just completed my course.

I went for a 32 mix fill at my LDS (PPO2 blending) and was told that I had to wait for a few hours before they would analyze the mix and sign it off. Something about letting the mix homogenise. This kinda makes sense to me but this was not mentioned in the TDI/SSI course and I was wondering if anyone has heard of this.

Another question regarding this: Does the temperature of the cylinder (warmish after a fill) affect the PPO2 reading on the analyser? I'm thinking No because the fraction remains the same, right? Comments please.

Regards

Joe

Hello all

I'm new to Nitrox, having just completed my course. Congratulations!

I went for a 32 mix fill at my LDS (PPO2 blending) and was told that I had to wait for a few hours before they would analyze the mix and sign it off. Really? They said this?Something about letting the mix homogenise. You don't need to do this with Nitrox. Trimix, ok, but not Nitrox. This kinda makes sense to me but this was not mentioned in the TDI/SSI course and I was wondering if anyone has heard of this.

Another question regarding this: Does the temperature of the cylinder (warmish after a fill) affect the PPO2 reading on the analyser? Nope. I'm thinking No because the fraction remains the same, right? Correct. Comments please.

Regards

Joe