Newb Equipment List - I have seen the light (horror?)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

wrusty33

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Hi to all, a newbie here. I was on vacation in Hurghada, Egypt last week and did an introductory dive in the Red Sea and am now a convert to that freedom and beauty. The coral reefs are something else !!! I am now looking to get certified and take in the beauty of the Red Sea area as well as the Mediterranean. Now to that end, while on the introductory dive, I witnessed two separate incidences where hoses burst when the first stage reg was opened. Not sure if lp or hp, as at that time did not know the difference, but I thought to myself that cannot be good and shouldn't happen. In the comment card I noted the burst hoses and told them my sense of their maintenance and safety precautions was not good. Well that led me to 1) looking for equipment because I want my own equipment and 2) the one responsible for my safety is me. I would never use resort DS equipment again. Ok so this is the equipment list I have thus far and would like for you to comment on it. Right now I can see myself diving once or twice a month at Sharm El Sheikh, Hurghada, Al Gouna, etc Red Sea reef diving. Nothing extreme.

Aqualung Titan LX - 1st and 2nd stage 300 USD
Aqualung Titan LX Octo 110 USD
Scubapro Seahawk BC 365 USD
Suunto Vyper Wrist Computer 260 USD
Subgear XP10 Computer Console 310 USD for redundancy.... w/o redundancy just a SPG
Suunto SK7 Arm Compass 70 USD

So that is a little over 1400 USD