Newb asking newb questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Air82nd

New
Reaction score
I am currently new to the scene and getting my open water certification. I no I should probably wait until after my first dive to start purchasing equipment but I am getting the must buy jitters.

I was wondering how oceanic and aqualung equipment stacked up compared to the rest. I have not really noticed a whole lot of conversation covering there equipment. I was wondering if anyone could give me some insight on their equipment. I purchased the neo 3 goggles by oceanic because of the open panoramic view. I am looking to get a regulator, bcd, and computer next. Is it wise to stay with one brand accross the board or should I mix things up. I here Zeagle has good equipment.

Thanks for your suggestions and sorry for the newb dialogue

All of those companies make fine gear.

However, I will advise you to wait. Get certified, make sure this is something that you really want to do. It'd really suck to buy a pile of gear, finish the class and decide that you really don't like diving. Very expensive mistake.

Besides, you'll make better purchasing decisions if you wait a bit, learn more about diving, and make some informed decisions as to what gear truly suits the direction you're headed.