New Tanks and Hydro

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

WaterFox

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Newly certified diver looking to buy a new AL80 tank. Please pardon my dumb question but I am new to diving...

I'm going to be buying a new AL80 tank soon. I wanted to know if you typically have to pay extra for vis inspection/hydro when you buy it new from the local dive shop? (or do you even have to get a vis/hydro with a new tank??)

Thanks.

Newly certified diver looking to buy a new AL80 tank. Please pardon my dumb question but I am new to diving...

I'm going to be buying a new AL80 tank soon. I wanted to know if you typically have to pay extra for vis inspection/hydro when you buy it new from the local dive shop? (or do you even have to get a vis/hydro with a new tank??)

Thanks.

A current Vis and reasonably current hydro are included in purchase price. If the hydro is older than ~6-9 months the shop should (IMO) sell the tank for slightly less. They may or may not actually mark them down though. AL80s are often sold for very close to the wholesale price anyway.

When the cylinder is mfg it is hydro'd. That is in the cost of mfging. Once a shop sells a cylinder it will typically preform a Viz. for free as part of the sale. Technically, as part of the hydro a viz inspection is done. And although cylinders are suppose to come clean (and in some cases O2 clean) from the factory they do not always arrive that way. So when buying a new cylinder it should be inspected before put into use.