Necessary equipment advice for a new diver

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sbiriguda

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I am a very beginner
I have been told I have to buy at least the very basic equipment. that is fins mask and snorkel
This is a question you heard one million times...
What would you suggest to buy for a beginner?
Thank you

Fins and mask would be important, given that these are generally considered personal items, and also having the most to do with comfort in the water (thus reducing stress). Also, these items are generally cheaper than most other equipment, thus making it easier for divers start with them.
With buying fins early on, you also get the advantage of being able to start practising propulsion skills such as frog kick, helicopter turns, back kicks etc.
As for a snorkel, I haven't really found a big difference between different types of snorkels. However, seeing as how they are potentially the cheapest equipment that you can start with, might as well purchase one of them. I have one of those foldable snorkels that I tuck into a pocket till I need it.

If you are in an area that requires exposure protection when diving, a personal wetsuit or drysuit would also be recommended as one of the earlier purchases. This would be due to the fact that exposure protection are quite personal items, and also that a good fit would make a beginner more comfortable in the water.