maui dive shop

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

makomike

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
Has anyone done any business with maui diving scuba center? I am a new instructor and am moving to maui. Maui diving scuba center is hiring and just wanted some feed back from fellow divers. Or any replies on other maui shops.
thanks mike

Maui Dreams is my favorite shop on Maui. Nice little shop with a great staff. Maui Dive Shops are like the Wal Mart of dive shops on Maui. They are everywhere but they don't have the most qualified staff. I've spoken with employees there that are not even open water certified.

I dove with Maui Dive Shop for a week while I was there a couple of years ago. I found the boats to be big and comfortable, the divemasters were knowledgeable and very friendly and the staff was quite helpful. They carried more divers on the boat than I prefer, but there was was enough divemasters to create a 1 to 6 ratio. I would recommend them.
Pam

The MDS isn't my favorite by a long shot. I'm also an instructor. If you're thinking about working for them that's a different story. I'm certain they'll hire you and these days their primary certification is SSI for open water students. I was told they have an interesting pay system. 75 dollars per class regardless of the number of students. Could be 1, could be many more.