mask problems..

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

wackodacko

Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi everyone.. Im new to scuba and just finished my openwater crash course this weekend! =-) I have a question about my Tusa Platina hyperdry (M21) Mask.. i bought it online (grrr..i know! but it saved me like.. 50%) and it works pretty well (tight seal, fits my small face etc..) except it fogs up more than i'd like it to.. no matter how much i spit in it! I did the toothpaste trick twice, too. Another thing is the purge is crap--it doesnt work good cuz no matter how much i tilt my head to the left (thats where the purge valve is), water still settles at the bottom of the nose area so I have to clear it the old fashioned way anyways. My last complaint is about the nose plastic thing.. its so hard that i cant squeeze my nose with one hand! i gotta use 2 fingers from each hand and press it together.. (i cant equalize by swallowing or jaw-wiggling so i gotta do the nose pinching thing).. Do you guys think I should get a new mask or are these just minor things ??
Thanks..
:confused:

............ If you go to your LDS and buy a good mask that fits???

I would do just that, and think of the cost of the first mask as a learning experience. :huh:

It sounds like you know what to look for. Fit is the most important.

Welcome to the boards........ and to Diving!! :)