instructors and gear

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Kane(adian)

Contributor
Reaction score
Here is a question for the instructors and other dive pros out there:

Do you run a second set of gear when you are in the pool? I am wondering if you keep your gear away from chlorine at all costs, or if you just use the same stuff.

I'm not a dive pro, but I hang out with far too many of them...

It has been my observation that the instructors I know use the same gear in the pool, in the lake, and in the ocean. I have had an assistant instructor tell me that the most important thing to them is to be familiar with their gear so that they know where everything is without having to stop and think about it so that they can give undivided attention to their students, which certainly makes sense to me.

Julie

We use the same gear, we just rinse or soak it after using it in the pool. It would just be too costly to have one set of gear for training and one for open water.

What is even MORE important is the fact that as Instructors we have to DEMONSTRATE skills. This means your gear has to be so familiar to you that you don't have to think twice about how to configure or use it.

Now, I admit that we have several sets of dive gear. A couple were bought strictly for our guests to use on our liveaboard in case they hadn't brought their own or had something fail. The others were relegated to "back up" status when we recently upgraded to new regs & BCs.