How to choose a pair of FINS ??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jorge-ecuador

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I am not an expert diver but want to buy a good pair of fins to give them to my 21 years old son. He is begining to dive, he is certified, he is studing marine biologist, and also want to be a Master Diver. So pleasse let me know what to consider to choose them. Also a mask.
Let me know what else is convenient to complete his equipment.

He allready have a new Mares Package with regulator, octo, BCD & Gauges.
He have a surfing wetsuit but also need a scuba wetsuit, but I think this is not easy to buy on line, it is better he try it beffore buy it I think.

What else? :confused:
Whisle. Wich one?
Knive. Wich one?

Thanks in advance an regards
Jorge

Several top brands are "favored" around here.

If he likes "paddle" style fins the ScubaPro Jet fins are what I call the "tank" of the diving world - often lasting 20+ years and favored by many dive pros I've come across in my area. Tend to be favored for precision fin kicks.

If he preferrs "split" style fins the BioPro's and Scubapro Twin Jets both get high marks from users. Tend to be easier on the legs preventing muscle cramps and generating more speed.

Either way they have to fit his feet, so finding them locally is always a good idea, but if you know the size he needs either can be found less expensively online - Might contact Larry at scubatoys.com as he even offers a 10% discount for Scubaboard members.