How close is too close for eels?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

CODMAN

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi guys, I need a few tips on photographing eels! I'm going to be going on a trip to Roatan soon and hope to encounter some morays. I'm new to photography (underwater casing is on it's way) and have never been around these tropical eels before. I know they are aggressive if provoked and I want to avoid this... For the eels sake as well as for mine!! :D :D

So how close is too close? I won't have an external strobe so will need to get close to get a good shot... But I don't want to get them nervous and edgy!!!

Anybody have good experience with eels and can fill me in?

Thanks all!:coffee:

I think it depends on wether the eels are fed or not. Just like any wildlife, human contact makes them brave, and often times waiting for a handout. Watch for a few dives, or check with the divemasters to see if the eels are fed by divers, if so, keep a clear distance, and don't corner them.

I am not a photographer, but I have had many eel encounters. I have been up to about three feet and not seen signs of aggressiveness. The issue is that eels have very poor eyesight but very nasty teeth. They don't tend to come out of their holes at all. In fact, they will normally retreat a bit if you get close. The only eel bites I have heard of have been to people who put their hands in a hole.