HOG Zenith exhaust?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

stuartv

Seeking the Light
ScubaBoard Supporter
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I am studying up on regulators with an eye to what I will buy for my own first set.

I read a post somewhere about the HOG Zenith seconds that said something about them not having an exhaust tee and thus, dumping a lot of bubbles in the diver's face.

What's the story on that? It seems like something that would make me shy away from getting a Zenith. In my OW class, the regs I used generally did dump a lot of bubbles that were constantly obscuring my vision any time my head was roughly "up". At the time, I thought to myself that I would make sure to buy myself a reg that really ducted the exhaust away to that I could see even if I were in a vertical, head-up position in the water.

the only regs that really do that are the Apeks XTX, only if equipped with the wide exhaust T, the Hollis 500SE/Oceanic Omega whatever number it is now, and the Poseidons. The rest of them have the general exhaust T spacing which is about as wide as the mouthpiece at the bottom, and the width of the case at the top. The HOG is no worse than any other standard reg on the market.

hog-zenith-chrome-second-stage-cb.jpg
Hog D3
500.jpg
Standard XTX

500.jpg
XTX wide exhaust T's.