Hint for decreasing weights?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scuba_katt

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I have been diving for a couple years, have done about 90 dives.

I use a fair amount of weight when i dive, because i find nothing more annoying then struggling to stay down when in shallow waters if underweighted. I have great buoyancy control, and my breathing must be improving, cos I'm lasting long dives etc, but I just have trouble when in the shallows if underweighted.

Maybe it has something to do with my wetsuit (5 ml long john and jacket with really really thick kneepads)?

any ideas on how to gradually decrease the amount of weight I use without flopping around on the surface during a safety stop!?

cheers!

I dropped my weightbelt from 32lbs to 21lbs in less than a year by getting more relaxed & changing my gear. I went from a 2-pc to a 1-pc. I added a fleece lycra suit under the wetsuit. It adds warmth but, when it absorbs water, becomes NEGATIVELY buoyant. I also got rid of my complicated back-inflating BC & replaced it with a very simple jacket style.

If you are still using aluminum tanks, try steel. They should reduce you weight by at least 6 lbs.:wink:

that I always use, but then on the second dive (and third...) when i use a rental tank its always aluminium and i have to add even MORE weight so that i don't end up a floater!! :bonk:

I think I'll have to try the lycra suit idea -

thanks gals for your tips!