Having trouble with steel cylinder trim - New Xdeep stealth 2.0 Tec diver

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sidemounting_DFK

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi everyone,

I am new to sidemount diving and have just purchased my Xdeep Stealth Tec 2.0 SM wing - I love it already.

However, I do have some issues with my cylinder trim and would love some insightful suggestions.

I am using 7L HP cylinders (300 bar), so they are very dense and hence very negatively buoyant in water. I found them less floaty than the more commonly used steel 12L LP cylinder. And I think this might be the primary reason why I am having trouble.

The cylinders are in trim (horizontal) when I clip them onto the square D-ring, but I want to save the square D-ring for my pouch, GoPro, SMB, etc. However, when I clip them onto the round D-ring, the bottom seems to point downward.

I have set up my D-ring as far back as possible (please see the attached photo) onto the square D-ring, and the square D-ring can't be moved back anymore.
I'd like to avoid using a butt plate so I can attach a but pouch there

What should I do to improve my cylinder trim? Should I move the cylinder band/clamp down a bit?

Thanks a lot!

GPTempDownload.JPG

IMG_1114.jpg
IMG_1113.JPG