Equipment Pricing and Reviews

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

beardown

Registered
Reaction score
I've been diving for a couple of years now, but always rented equipment and now want to buy my own. I've noticed that finding substantive reviews on equipment is difficult. Usually its just marketing hype or very superficial comments.

I've also noticed that when in-depth equipment reviews that aren't 100% supportive are posted on boards and websites, it seems to generate an attack-dog response from the OEMs. Scott Zeagle is one example, who seems very aggressive in defending his products, regardless of issues. In fairness, his products generally get very good reviews, and I'm personally interested in his Stilletto BC. It isn't my express intent to single him out, but several of his responses to postings on here and other websites have really been nuclear in nature.

I've also determined that there is complete OEM control over product pricing - no seasonal sales, no discounts for large total sales - nothing at all except on discontinued merchandise that's been approved by OEMs, or accessory items such as clothing, luggage, etc. I'm all for capitalism, but that's not capitalism, that's a cartel. The overwhelming majority of current major products (BCs, regs/octos, gauges/computers) are not available anywhere at prices other than what the OEM has set.