Drysuit Questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

diverbug

Registered
Reaction score
I'm getting back into local (coldwater) diving but have decided I'm too wimpy to go back in a wetsuit.

What types of things should I look for in a drysuit? How will I go about deciding on the right one for me?

I've been diving for 12 years, but haven't in coldwater diving in 8 or so (I know, I know - pathetic). I'm female, diving in the Pacific Northwest - I don't know what other info is important in making this decision.

Thanks!

$$$ is not the least of it.

If you have no concerns about cost then get a custom fitted suit unless an off the rack size fits.

However for many folks dollars do matter and the *best* is not always an option... but I am of the opinion that for PNW diving any drysuit is better than diving wet.

Suit construction choices boil down to:
1) vulcanized rubber
2) bi-lam or tri-lam shell
3) neoprene

Seal choices are:
1) latex
2) neoprene

Zipper/entry choices are:
1) back entry
2) front entry with diagonal zip
3) front entry with belly zip
4) front entry with chest zip

a few Undergarment choices are:
1) polarfleece
2) thinsulate
4) polypro wooly bear
5) Goodwill skiwear

The least expensive will be a neoprene drysuit followed by a back-entry bilam shell suit with Goodwill skiwear undergarments.

Stepping up to the top of the price chart would net you a custom fit DUI CF200 with thinsulate undergarment.