Diving Two Hose Regulators: Questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Wildstar1063

Registered
Reaction score
Could some of you two hose regulator divers, list some of the
differences between diving a 2 hose regulator, as opposed
to a modem single hose unit?

Also, was there ever a device that went between the tank valve,
and the regulator inlet port that let you tap the high pressure,
gas, so you could have a HP port for a gauge?

I have a US DIvers Royal Aquamaster, that I am getting rebuilt.
I Dove it a couple of times, in the local pool, but I didn't trust it
to any open water dives, 'till I could get it rebuilt.

Alot of people say that these breathe harder than the new regs,
but I find the Royal to breathe easier than many of the new regs
I've tried.

And it's SO NICE not to have the bubbles in you face

Thanks

Wildstar1063 (AKA Chuck E.)

Hose clearing requires some techniques not used with single hose regs. A Barrel roll going counter-clockwise (left hose going down) may be needed if a large slug of water finds its way into the hose. The reg will more or less clear itself without needing to exhale if done properly.
For buddy breathing, roll the mouthpiece down & out, keep both persons at same relative depth.
The little US Divers insert for attaching a HP gauge was considered a weak point & not recommended. Use a J-valve and/or bring along a pony.
There were a few different regs that came with a HP port, the Nemrod Snark III being the most popular. It went out of production only 3 - 4 years ago.