Diving in Lake Sammamish?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

EvilSlumLord

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi all:

I'm still a diving newbie so this might be a dumb question. Is there any value in trying to dive Lake Sammamish? Does anyone do it? I live very close to it (at least compared to the Sound) and was just wondering if I was driving past a cool place to get wet every day. One thing that would worry me is all the boat traffic out there but I thought I would ask.

Thanks!

ESL

I wouldn't think that diving there would be very fun. drive the extra 15-20 minutes and hit Alki.

EvilSlumLord:
Hi all:

I'm still a diving newbie so this might be a dumb question. Is there any value in trying to dive Lake Sammamish? Does anyone do it? I live very close to it (at least compared to the Sound) and was just wondering if I was driving past a cool place to get wet every day. One thing that would worry me is all the boat traffic out there but I thought I would ask.

Thanks!

ESL

OK......

I have certainly done that and have a couple of dives at Edmonds UWP as well. I don't mean to say I won't go anywhere else but if it has some value I don't want to just ignore it either. After all, those not living near the coast dive in lakes (admittedly all they have) all the time so what makes Lake Sammamish not worthy ("I don't think it would be very fun" isn't super-helpful)? People dive Lake Washington too from what I can tell.

Anyone have experience in Lake Samm or a reason not to do so?

ESL

Blitz: