Depp insurance

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

showboat

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
my Olympus PT-015 housing flooded on a dive today and my now defunked Olympus D-5050. I have filed a claim online today when I got home.

My question is how long till they will replace or god-forbid have to send me a check. I am heading out to AKR in 2 weeks from today. grrrrrrrrrrrrr

Thanks in advance.

I have no experience with DEPP, but from the title of your thread combined with the angry face icon, I thought for sure this post would be a complaint regarding their policies & proceedures or something...

Sorry to hear about the flooded camera! I hope DEPP responds to your claim in a reasonable (and reasonably prompt!) manner... :)

I think you should contact them by phone- ASAP!!!

I had a flood in my Oly 4040 in 2003:

After calling DEPP to file the claim, I had to ship the flooded camera to a shop (?? in NH??). The people there had to verify that an "unrepairable flood" had indeed taken place, report this to DEPP, and then I was contacted re: a replacement. As the 4040 was out of production, DEPP offered to send me a replacement 5050 , for (IIRC) $60. I agreed to take the 5050, DEPP purchased one, and has it shipped to my home

This process took 2+ months. As I was not diving during that time, for me: no harm, no foul. If I had another trip/dive scheduled for 2 weeks after the flood- I think I'd have been SOL.