computer console on octo

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Starfish

Contributor
Reaction score
I am a newbie getting ready to purchase my first set of equipment. I have been doing the usual research and have decided agains an Air2 system because I like the redundancy of an "old" style independent back-up reg.

Now I am looking at other octo options.
(I have a wrist mounted compass.)

What I am interested in knowing, are people's opinions on the octo and computer integrated console config versus the "old" 2 guage console plus a wrist mounted computer?

Would you recommend the 2 guage consule plus a computer in case the integrated one dies? or the "new complete" octo and console combo?

Thx Starfish

I'm a little confused on your description. Are you asking for our opinions on a console that has an secondary air source (octo) as part of it?

This can't be since the console is almost always on a high pressure line for the SPG (submersible pressure gauge) and your octo requires a low pressure line.

As far as guage layout, it is somewhat of a personal preference issue. I have everything on a 2+1 console (2 spots on front, 1 on back) and it works fine for me.