Compressor Temperatures

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Scubadoo72

Contributor
Reaction score
Hey all, looks like a great board here. I am new to both the compressor and diving world, so please bear with me..lol

I have an older Poseidon P80 compressor that I am now running with a 3hp electric motor, as well as a conversion to a gas motor when on the road.

My questions are these..

Is there an optimum RPM the compressor should be turning at to fill my cylinders, and what should the compressor heads temperature be at while in operation?

Thanks in advance!

I don't have that info but will take a guess.

rpm-2600

Discharge gas temps(65F ambient, 3000 psi)
1-280F
2-250F
3-250F

Heads/cylinders:
1-140F
2-140F
3-140F
All(90F ambient)-160F
3(4500 psi)-150F
3-(4500 psi, 90F ambient)-170F

That is a little, 3 cfm, 3200 psi so I believe those temps would be about the max. The high press numbers are provided for comparison. If that were a Utilus which has similar output but low rpm and much higher heat dissipation the temps would be lower. Just saying, FYI.

That is great, thank you. I was wondering if it was running too hot, but I guess my fan is doing it's job.

My heads are running at (in clockwise starting at 9) 153, 135, 125 degrees...guess the shroud needs to be a bit better on the 9 oclock side...it is more open than the other two heads.

Didn't expect a reply so quick..lol.

I will have to calculate the rpm's now.