Bringing two SPGs on trips

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Alex_Garland

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I have been using my current Scubapro SPG for going on 8 years, ~250 dives, and it still works fine. I have two dive trips coming up, a resort at Little Cayman and a liveaboard (Aqua Cat) in the Bahamas, in which I'm looking to enhance my redundancy. I'm wondering if it would be worthwhile to purchase a second SPG in case the first one fails.

I'm considering this model here, which is similar to my current SPG, except that this one measures depth too:

So my first question: Is carrying a second SPG a common practice among SB divers? (Not to WEAR two at a time on dives, but to have a second SPG in your luggage in case the first one fails on a dive trip in a remote location where it cannot be immediately repaired.)

Also, if I were to purchase a second SPG, are these generally ready to be hooked up right out of the box, or do they need special testing and/or other work (e.g., o-ring installation) before use?

I'm shopping for a new dive computer with AI, so if I go down that route, carrying a second back-up SPG in my luggage might seem like overkill. But I'm curious to see what people here think.

Thanks,
AG

I carry a full set of: 1st stage, 2nd stage, SPG, and their hoses as spares. I can use them or help out another diver. If there is a problem, I can quickly swap out the offending part to keep diving. Later, I can look into fixing the issue at the end of the day or after the trip.