B/C suggestions???

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Gidget170

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I have been diving for a few years using rental equipment. Yuck. The BC's are always uncomfortable. I am going on a cruise this summer that stops in St. Thomas, St. Lucia, St. Kitts, Antigua and Dominica. With all those opportunities to dive, I decided to buy some equipment of my own.

I am not very big (5'2" - 130lbs.) with a small curvy frame. Before I go buy the first thing that doesn't cut into my hips or bind my chest, do you have any suggestions?

Thanks, Gidget

Here are a couple that work well for many women - they are infinitely adjustable, so your size, height, and frame/build is no real issue. Guaranteed not to bind your chest - there is no chest strap. While the way they customize fit is one of their better attributes, they also offer other benefits as well, such as the ability to remove weight from your weightbelt and place it flat against your back; they adjust to different types of diving you may wish to experience; and in general they are worthy of your consideration. Run your cursor over the photos to see a larger image:

BC Systems | Halcyon Dive Systems

Halcyon Eclipse | Halcyon Dive Systems

Best,

Doc

a good backplate and wing system can be both lightweight and travel friendly or heavy to remove lead from one's belt.

A Backplate and wing system can be both very high quality and inexpensive or very high quality and also very expensive.