Advice regarding MX10

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

stitch626

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am going to the red sea at the end of next week & I would like some advice regarding the Sea & Sea MX10 (I have looked at all the topics on this site regarding the MX10 and have learned a lot already , but I still have a few questions)

I have never done any underwater photography before and I would like some help to get the most out of my system. The problem I have is that I will not see any of my results until I get back home, by which time it will be too late to change my tactics.

I have an MX10 with strobe and close up lens and I am not sure about the best settings. I think this is correct but any input will be very gratefully received.

1) I plan to use 100asa film, is this what most people use?
2) Do I always use the strobe underwater, even if there is enough ambient light?
3) Do most people leave the strobe on auto or do they set it manually?
4) I have a close up lens. I guess this just allows me to get closer to the subject while maintaining focus. Is this correct?
5) How do you fix the MX10 to your BCD? I have a "Quick Release Coil Lanyard" that I have attached to a d-ring on the front of my BC. Although this works I am still worried that it will get in the way or bang around.
6) Now a stupid question, is the MX10 positively buoyant, negatively buoyant or neutrally buoyant.

Any other help/advise you can give me will be appreciated.

Many thanks and safe diving
Rgds
Stephen