advice needed- gear and reading

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Nailer99

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hi, everyone- I'm very new to diving. I just got my OW cert 3 weeks ago, and did....well, half my AOW Saturday- I was supposed to do the second half today, actually, but, there's only one other student in my class, and her and our instructor both came down with colds after our two dives yesterday. So, we're rescheduling the rest of the class. But, wow- the 2 dives yesterday were mind-blowing for me. We did a deep dive (94 feet) and a night dive, from a boat on hood canal- many thanks to Don and Diane at Pacific Adventures for a really great time! Anyway, I think I'm hooked. And I'm starting to take a hard look at the *gulp* cost of my new obsession. I'm sure you all can relate. But I'm relizing that I don't even know WHAT I need to buy. I see people with some pretty trick looking gear, but I feel lost. I'm fine buying expensive stuff, I understand about getting what you pay for and all, but I'm scared about realizing 4 months after I buy something that I should have bought a different brand, or something. I'm OK with the sketchy rental gear from the dive shop for now, but I'm pretty sure I'll enjoy diving even more with my own stuff. ( At least my own reg and BC- probably need to knock over a few more liquor stores before I can think about a dry suit.....) Anyway, if anyone has any pointers thay wanna share, and particularly any reading they'd reccomend, I'd love to hear about it. (The Padi te