About the Genesis 2000..

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Buccaneer

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
About the Genesis 2000.. I am new to diving and recently bought this reg. one of the reasons I bought it was because I saw it advertised as "Nitrox ready" on several web sites. (leisurepro.com for instance) I searched the forums for info about the reg, and saw several posts by shrwdtech (if u are reading this I PM'd u) where he mentions it needs to be rebuilt w/other components first.
My ?? is: Is this still the case- are these ads somewhat dishonest in thier description of "nitrox ready" OR has genesis started making new models Nitrox ready now w/ out any mods needed?

Thanks!

The answer to your question should be in the owners manual.

According the the manufacturer, the sherwoods require the installation of a nitrox kit but I don't remember about the gs2000 since we only sold like 1.

The reason I lumped them all together is because they are all distributed by kramer & decker

Buccaneer,

If I didn't respond to your PM, I'm sorry. I don't have any PM's in my box atm.

On page 4 of the Genesis Regulator Owner's Manual is states on the 4th paragraph down to not use the reg with anything BUT "clean compressed atmospheric air (21% oxygen, 79% nitrogen by volume).

It states to not use it, for various dangers, with any other breathing gas.

That part is rather a stretch, as we DO offer an enriched air service kit.