YMCA Cert. Card & Advanced Open Water Class

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I have two questions really and would appreciate an honest answer to each from those in the dive master/teaching industry.

First, are they going to start treating the C-cards from anyone who obtained them from YMCA like they have some of the aluminum scuba tanks in the US? In other words, you tell me now you will accept my YMCA card, but in a few years - even though I have 18 yrs of diving experience - are you going to disregard this card all together? I ask because here in the US if you have scuba tanks made before a certain yr, they no longer allow you to use them even though they have been visualed every year and hydroed every five years - basically, there is nothing wrong with the tank, but the shops will not fill them anymore - I do not want this same scenario for my C-card. If this is the case and I will not be able to go to other countries and dive, then I will probably have to take some kind of advanced course to at least get some kind of recognized scuba organization card. I would do this if I just had to.