Wrist/ankle zips

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Zept

Contributor
Reaction score
I'm going to get the local wetsuit man to make me a 5mm wetsuit (no other option in Singapore, I can't find anything thicker than 3mm in the shops).

The question is, do I need zips at the wrists and ankles? I figure I might be able to do without at the wrists, since I have skinny and flexible hands, but I am less sure about the ankles. Plus I have no experience of anything thicker than a 3/2mm suit.

Thanks for any advice you can offer,

Zept

If you're getting the suit made, you might want to get some velcro tabs installed that you can close after the zipper is zipped shut, to keep the zipper from opening. I have a persistant problem where an ankle zipper comes unzipped every dive, due to the flex in my leg from finning. It lets cold water in - a concern in 54 F degree water!

I've seen wrist zippers, but IMO they are pointless. You can push your hand straight through in line with your arm, it's harder to bend your ankle into a straight line :)

I see 7mm suits around here without zippers... but I can see how they would really make life easier!

I agree that you don't need them on the wrist but ankles would be nice... and take Ben's advice ~ velcro zipper keeper shutter!

I added one with some neoprene cement and a few stiches to the neck of my hood... the zipper in back would never stay closed until I did.