Worried about diving after radius and olna fracture.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

md32903

New
Reaction score
I fractured both bones in my forearm about 3 months ago during a mountain biking trip. They were completely broken and i underwent surgery and had 2 metal plates (surgical steel, I think) and several screws installed.

I'm somewhat new to diving and Am ready to get back in the water after a long recovery process.

I asked my doctor if I could return to diving and he didn't know what free-diving was but said yes, so I'm a little hesitant.

Will I be okay diving. I still have very little strength in my arm, but will not be carrying much weight as I am free diving and not scuba. Will I have a problem with pressure and possible air trapped between/under the implants? My main concern is pressure when I'm diving. I don't dive very deep, usually around 30 feet, and no more than 50.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

You won't have any problem with air trapped between your plates or screws. You shouldn't feel a thing at all.
My only concern is that your arm is still weak, so that will change your limits...be really conservative.

Alright, sounds good. To be honest, I've found I don't use my arm much while diving. I have some great fins, real long and flexible, free dive fins, and they seem to do most of the work. I pole spear, and it's pretty light. My main concern was pressure, so hopefully it'll be fine.

Thanks for the quick response.