Which diver's watch?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ksporry

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi Guys,
I'm pretty new at this stuff and I'm looking for some advice on a dive watch/computer.
Actually I already narrowed it done quite a bit. Basically I'm in dubio between the Suunto D6i steel, and the Elementum Aqua negative/steel.
The D6i uses the Suunto DM4 software for tracking and sharing dive info, the latter doesn't have this. Unlike the D6i the latter also doesn't have the oxygen usage transmitter.
I spoke to one or two guys who told me the radio transmitters are a bit susceptible to failure. Now, I do realise the risk in using digital stuff, especially radio signals, so I was planning to get a normal gauge in any case, but it would be nice to track my own consumption on my computer. However, if I get a suunto cobra 3 then I can do that in any case.
I also realise that having shiny steel isn't the best, but they are cosmetically more appealing when not diving (sorry, the above water life also wants to benefit from the new watch...).
Price doesn't seem a big difference, maybe 50-100GBP (100-150 USD) difference, so that won't be the biggest driver.

Any advice would be appreciated.

PS. If someone knows of equivalent watches, then I'm all ears!