Votes: 10 43.5%
  • To show me a new dive site

Votes: 12 52.2%
  • to reduce learning curve on new challenging dives

Votes: 11 47.8%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rjens

Reaction score
I am relatively new to diving and am still trying to figure things out. One of the mysteries to me is the role of Dive Masters. I have never done a dive with a DM. My ceritification dives were all beach dives in Maui, and have been beach diving in Monterey (breakwater) ever since. I understand that when you do a boat dive there is a DM on board to give instructions and to effectively be in charge of the dive, but when else would you use a divemaster.

Do you hire a DM primarily to ensure that you get the most out of your dive (kinda like a tour guide), is their role more to raise the safety level, (eg. if I were to dive Monastery Beach I should hire a DM to go with me the first time), or is this only a boat dive thing to protect a charter boat captain.

I hope this isn't too stupid a question.

All of the above, except for 'protect the charter boat captain'.

If you are going to an unfamiliar and challenging site, such as Monastery, ideally you would have an experienced buddy who would dive there with you for a few times. If not, you hire a DM. Also, if you pay a lot of money to be on a tropical vacation, you may want to experience the best in a limited amount of time. You need a guide for that, so you hire a DM.