What in the he%$#

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Blue Space

Contributor
Reaction score
I am brand new to diving and very confused. I think i've read almost every post here in the last two days which has been a wealth of information. But theres one thing that really bugs the heck out of me and thats the debate between bp/wing BC's and the traditional ones. Ok besides the obvious its a little more streamlined than traditional BC's but my question is. Is there a difference in safety between these two. And if the bp/wing is better in some way why don't the LDS sell them. I hope this dosent cause a huge debate I just want some information so I can make an educated decision for myself. Any input would be great!!

My LDS does sell them.

If you have indeed read almost all the posts, then you already know the answer to your other question, but just for kicks:

A bp&w is not, IMO, inherently "safer" than a convential BC, as its still up to the wearer to take care of that. If anything, it has less garbage to get in your way, which could make it safer. What do you think?

MD

First off I don't even know what troll means. Second I would not have ask the question if I already new the answer. Like I said before i'm NOT looking for a mass debate just honest information from divers that have the experience. Isn't that what this board is all about? I don't want to buy equipment then find out later I made a mistake my wallet can't support those kind of mistakes;-0

My LDS sells them too. Several LDSs around here do.