What camera to buy?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Dr. Spock

New
Reaction score
Hello,

I've been researching the past few days on what camera to get for underwater use. I was told GoPro was good and someone suggested Intova Nova HD but then I heard negative things about both online and on amazon (mainly GoPro on amazon). I read one complaint on another forum on how Intova in general does not make good products, although someone recommended it to me on another.

I am a student right now so don't have much money to spend but I am willing to spend a little more if it is something good. I wanted to spend around $200-400. I did read an article on getting a starter camera where you can add and grow it should you decide to advance so I think that might be an important feature.

I was looking at compact cameras, dslr and mirrorless. I wasn't sure if I should get a regular camera and then get a house for it. I would like to be able to dive 60m at least with it. Another priority for me is good image quality.

I was looking at SeaLife products as well and saw on reviews they had pros/cons for both the DC1400 and Micro HD.

I'm just really confused on what to buy. My purpose in getting an underwater camera is to take pics when diving. I maybe dive once a year at most and do so if I vacation in a suitable location. I would like professional level photos but price is an issue. I also read that professionals won't use compact cameras (I think it was this type).