Wetsuit numbers

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Rosewater

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi all. I am very new to this, but I plan on getting certified before next summer (Have to save the $$). Is there a chart somewhere explaining what temps wetsuits are good for? My diving is going to be split between the Florida panhandle and Mid-west lakes and quarries. Not sure if I will need 2 wetsuits or just a 3mm with a hooded vest. If anyone has any pointers on wetsuit temp protection please let me know. Thank you.

Rose

If you are diving freshwater in the panhandle, you'll be seeing temps of 68-72 degrees mostly. Out in the gulf, in the summer, it can be warmer than that. In the gulf in the winter, it can be quite a bit colder. I am unfamiliar with the lakes of the midwest, but would guess they would be colder than Florida waters.

I selected a 5mm suit. I've done everything from 56F to 72F in that and have been comfortable, but everyone is different. Having a hood helps tremendously. You lose a lot of heat through your head.

It's been said that heavier people tend to be warmer in the water, which makes sense. I know that I get cold less now that I have put on more weight. But really, it comes down to the individual. Remember, if you get a 5mm suit, and you get hot, you can undo the zipper a bit and let some cool water in. If you get cold in a 3mm, you'll need to end your dive.

Best of luck.. and we're all pulling for you! :)