Versatility with wetsuits

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

g8rphan19

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm still a beginner and I'm trying to figure out what's the best choice for me as far as wetsuits go.

I live in north Florida, and I'm interested in springs, shore dives, and offshore dives. The water temps range from 68 to about 80. On my first checkout dive (a local spring) we had 5mm wetsuits in 69 degree water temps. The wetsuit gave adequate warmth when moving around, but when staying still, waiting to do simple tasks/exercises (10 minutes without exerting much energy) I started getting cold, and shivvered at times.

The next day we went to an offshore wreck. I dove with no exposure suit, just a t-shirt and swim trunks. Above the thermocline, it was 78-79 degrees; below it was 74. It was a little chilly at first but I quickly got used to the cooler temp. It wasn't bad enough to shivver, like it was at the spring the previous day. A thin shorty would have been nice though.

Perhaps I could get a 3mm fullsuit and a 2-3mm shorty and wear both in the springs. I know being comfortable at a certain temperatur is subjective. If anyone has a similar comfort zone please reply or PM me with your 2 cents.

Thanks,

Michael

Take a look at the Bare 5mm Sport Men's Step-In Hooded Vest. If you had one of those to wear over a 3mm or 5mm fullsuit when it gets cold, you could also wear the vest by itself.