Trimix ICD gas switches

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

FIXXERVI6

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
DISCLAIMER: I am not an expert, I do not do this for a living, I'm just some guy on the internet, I could be way wrong here.

I don't know how many of you here follow deco stop but I got going on a converstation and thought I would post here with the recent threads here regarding Trimix.

The thread is regarding gas switches from 15/55 to 50%

And can be found here

The Deco Stop

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepSea
Not spiking your PN2 after coming off a deep mix.

15/55 = 30% N2
50% = 50% N2

Dont' forget its not just the hike in N2, its the drop in He as well.

Sure this is only 20% hike in N2,

HOWEVER

At the same time, your taking a massive drop in He pressure difference between tissue pressure and inspired mix.

You drop your He by 55% AND increase your N2 by 20%

If your making your switch at 70 feet, look at the difference.

Your going from 1.71 pp he to 0, and your nitrogen is increasing from .9 to 1.6, the difference is pretty big, VERY quickly, 2.41 atmosphers of pressure difference as soon as you start breathing (not sure how fast maybe someone can chime in, but it has to be pretty fast).

Now keep in mind, the pressure of He INSIDE yoru tissues will be HIGHER than 1.71 based on bottom time and depth, so your looking at a pressure delta HIGHER than 2.41 between the He pressure in the tissue and inspired mix.