Tips for navigation?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Janie88

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi, I took the Advanced Open Water years ago, but I am NOT good at navigation under water. Do you guys have any tips or where I can read more about how to navigate under water? My husband is excellent at navigation, and I admit that I rely on him totally to find the boat. But I don't like depending on him, I want to be capable of navigating. What if we get separated? What if something happens to him? Or at a minimum, I think it would make me feel more confident having the ability to navigate.

I have a new Teric, but I'm not sure how to properly use the compass. I know a lot of people (including my husband) navigate a lot by using their surroundings.

Thanks for any tips

Underwater is a 3d environment. You can use topo lines to keep your bearing. For instance, if you are in a lake, you can swim out until you get to a certain depth, and then turn right or left and follow at that depth. When you do that, keep track of your time swimming after you take that direction. Then note the time you turn the dive. Swim back for the same amount of time, and you should be in the ballpark for where you entered.

When you go to make that initial turn, you can also find a stick or something to stick in the ground so you recognize it when you come back.

Those are just a couple of tips. There are many ways to navigate, those are just a few that I use.