Suggestions on Fins and Booties

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sandyangel86

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Hey yall! Ok so I am new to diving...haven't even taken classes yet. For my class I am required to have a mask, snorkel, fins, booties, and gear bag. The mask and snorkel I have so there is no problem there, but I do need to get fins and booties. I have no idea what I'm looking for besides the fact that my closed foot fins wont work for the class. I am going to be taking classes here in Charleston, SC and then mainly diving here or in more tropical locations. So any help would be great!!

Also as far as a gear bag goes its just a mesh bag....will that work out or should I invest in something a little more durable?

I do need to get fins and booties. I have no idea what I'm looking for besides the fact that my closed foot fins wont work for the class. I am going to be taking classes here in Charleston, SC and then mainly diving here or in more tropical locations. So any help would be great!!

Why won't your closed foot fins work for the class? If that's the message you have been given by the instructor without advice about what to look for in the way of alternatives, then I detect a degree of unhelpful closed-mindedness. I snorkel in the cold waters of the North Sea all the year round with full-foot fins worn with booties because that's the choice I made to ensure a comfortable fit and the propulsion, manoeuvrability and endurance that suit my style of gentle snorkelling.