stabilizing yourself for a shot/ photography ettiquette

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

CLA

Reaction score
Hi everyone

I'm new at UW photography and I would like to clarify what are the acceptable ways for stabilizing yourself for a shot. I guess hovering using breathing techniques is ideal but this is sometimes difficult especially when shooting macro or in a current. Touching the reef is often prohibited but is it aceptable to touch or kneel on the sand? I also see other divers using a retractable rod or pointer to steady themselves. Is this ok?

Lastly, when you are in a group and a guide points out something interesting, should you go first or last?

Would also appreciate other tips on UW photo etiquette.

Thanks in advance!

Kneeling in the sand hasn't helped me. Actually it has made things more complex when you feel like loosing balance. When hovering is way better way than kneeling in the sand. For example you don't stirr the bottom when hovering. For my macros I usually try to balance my camera against a rock or pinch a rock with two fingers to balance myself. That is if I'm facing a current.

I usually go last when guide shows the group something. That way I can spend most time on that subject not having to think that others would like to see the subject aswell.