So, I've been diving for two years now and my trip last week to Sipadan

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

PhatD1ver

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
was a wonderful experience. First, if you get a chance to go to SeaVentures and stay, it's spartan, but the food is good, the staff are A+, and the house reef is literally the best I've dove in my travels (which include Anilao, Puerto Galera, Kenting, and Saipan among them).

But more to my real point is that I decided I wanted to spend this trip training, specifically to get started into Tec training with Tec40. I'm still short of 200 dives, but I've followed a pretty reasonable progression of training (yeah, I'm lucky, I can afford to pay for it), and people can knock on PADI, but the step-by-step progression I've followed has slowly over 145 dives prepare for the classes I took which were Tec40, Self-Reliant, and Cavern.

But, lest you think that they were taught in typical 'resort' fashion, I'll be clear, I studied and swam my butt off. I was held to high standards for my diving, my planning, and my underwater awareness of gas, time, and depth. Toughest week of my life, and made OW and AOW feel like a cake walk.

But my instructor was a great guy, very patient, challenged me, pushed me, and was very frank in his assessments and debriefs.