Sidemount canister light

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Hi Bobby,

First, thank you for your technical explication, it is very interesting. I'm studying in the engineering field and rest assured, I know sometimes marketing dept tend to expose boosted technical specs. The problem is, a lot of companies (maybe not yours) are doing the exact same thing..

I don't pretend to be an expert, as light output is not a field I know a lot. But I know the following informations, maybe you could comment.

The 50W rating is actually an "HID equivalent" measure (marketing measure). The real power output of the lamp is more close to 10W if I remember well. Well, even at 10W it doesn't make sense to be a 5000 lumens lamp as you're saying top efficiency LED are actually at 135 lumens/W and I agree with you if this number is right.

For the 24W questionning, is it possible that because the light angle is wider on the 24W than the 50W, the light output is better on the 50W as it is more "concentrated"? As I said I have no idea how they do measure lumens output and it seems to be pretty randomized among lamps compagnies.