Should I get a package deal or not?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm pretty new to diving (I have my PADI OW - currently working on AOW), and I'm starting to look for my own gear. At this point, it's a little overwhelming. My PADI OW book recommended buying a gear package with everything in it, rather than shopping for individual pieces. Is it really worth it to get a package deal with a BC, reg, octo, and gauge console? I've seen several kits from Oceanic and Aqua Lung going for around $1,000. If I can find one with a reg and BC that I like, it would definitely be tempting. However, for the price, I worry that the gear would be junky and cheap. I want something that will be safe, reliable, and hold up for several years. Any thoughts? Are these packages too good to be true? Am I better off just buying individual pieces, shopping used, etc?

For what it's worth, it will be for cool to cold freshwater diving, with occasional vacation dives in warmer water. I would prefer a cold water regulator. I'm estimating that I will dive 3-4 days per month, except in the winter. Obviously, if I feel inclined to get certified in ice diving, a $1,000 starter kit will not suffice :shakehead: I'm just looking for my everyday kit.

For the most part full packages are either crap or a poor value for your money...everything you brought up is an issue.

Look to buy things one at a time or used, test out different gear to see what you like, etc.