Shallow diving at Florida Keys?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Noemi

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I am going to be on vacation in Florida Keys early may. My husband doesn't dive but we agreed I am going to squeeze in a few dives while we are there.

I am a bit of a newbie, only a few records in my logbook. Mostly beach dives. Wonder if there are any shallow spots (~40-50ft max), and dive operators or private instructors that go there?

Thanks.

Just got back from Marathon, with my brother and nephew. Both are beginners with six dives apiece. Went out with Tildens' to Sombrero Reef . Nice ,shallow (>20-25') ,easy dives, even in the somewhat choppy and breezy conditions...was blown out by small craft advisory the second day, but still a great weekend...

Shallow dives are very common there.

I am going to be on vacation in Florida Keys early may. My husband doesn't dive but we agreed I am going to squeeze in a few dives while we are there.

I am a bit of a newbie, only a few records in my logbook. Mostly beach dives. Wonder if there are any shallow spots (~40-50ft max), and dive operators or private instructors that go there?

Thanks.

I've been to the Keys twice, and dived both times. Most of the diving is from boats.

Where in the Keys? The dive opportunities are different depending where you are. Many of the reefs are less than 30' deep. The wreck dives are generally deeper.

I would recommend:
- Dive Center Key West