regulator set

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

nikos81

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello guys

I am going to buy a set of regs,octo and console. I was thinking about getting the MK 2+ 1st stage by Scubapro and the regulator will be R295. The octo is going to be the R295 too and about the console, I will get an analogue one,because it is my first time I'm going to buy a set, so not digital yet. I was thinking of getting the Mares Mission 3 console.

What do you guys think about the set?

Sounds like a good choice for a first set! The SP MK2+/R295 is a good basic design system that has been proven to be extremely reliable and a good breather. It is a simple design that is easy to service and has dealer support worldwide. I used an MK2+/R190 (predecessor to the 295) for years and it never let me down. I don't know anything about the Mares gauge console, but since your buying ScubaPro regs, why not round out the package with an Uwatec 3-gauge console? UWATEC IN-LINE 3 GAUGE CONSOLE - SCUBAPRO-UWATEC
Makes your whole package from one manufacturer that will be easier when it comes time for service. Just a thought.

Anyways, Congrats one buying your first setup!

The R295 Mk2 seems to have a good reputation for reliability around here, but second stages like the R190 are meant to be better breathers, but I don't know if scubapro make them anymore. Also, as said above, it might make sense to get an Uwatec gauge instead, but the Mares ones are still mean to be pretty good as far as I'm aware.