REG and computer set up

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

stas

Contributor
Reaction score
Hi everyone. First, since I'm new to scubaboard, wanted to say hi.
I also have a two part question, but the parts are related.
First part:
I'm upgrading my gear and I'm considering the following setup. An ATX 200 with an
ATX 20 octo (though maybe ATX 50 for the octo), and a Suunto Cobra computer.
What do people think about a rig like this.

Second part:
In the setup above, the computer is both the depth and pressure "gauge". My LDS is telling me that since Suuntos are so well made, that I don't need any redundency. However, everywhere else, all I hear is REDUNDENCY. I was considering adding a seperate SPG and some cheap wrist mounted computer (Maybe an old DATAmax) for a redundency in the depth gauge and computer. What do you guys think of this.

As a small piece of background, I have about 80 dives. I'm in the NY/NJ area and want to start doing more local diving and start training in wreck diving. I want the new equipment to last for a while and allow me to do what I want in terms of near future training.

Sorry for the long post and looking forward to hearing your input.
Thanks alot
Stas