Proposed Gear set-up

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sdiver68

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Anything wrong with this gear set-up for the prices? I'm a newbie who mostly plans on warm weather air vacation dives. Would you suggest something different?

Hollis DC3/212 + 321 Octo = $399
AA Subframe Mask + AA SV2 Snorkel = $109
AA 'Smoke-Water' Splitfins = $185
Cressi Travelight or Zeagle Stiletto = $400

Total about $1100, all can be serviced locally.

Anything wrong with this gear set-up for the prices? I'm a newbie who mostly plans on warm weather air vacation dives. Would you suggest something different?

Do you have any idea why you're buying split fins?

Do you have any idea why you're buying split fins?

Recommendation from instructor and very high scores in various tests and reviews. I'd appreciate any advice you have if split fins are not good for my proposed application. I realize they are big for instance which may make travel a hassle.

Recommendation from instructor and very high scores in various tests and reviews. I'd appreciate any advice you have if split fins are not good for my proposed application. I realize they are big for instance which may make travel a hassle.

Did the instructor provide a rationale for his recommendation?

Have you tried them?

Splits have their fans and their detractors. Fans tend to tout how much easier they are to go fast in. I'm never sure why people want to "go fast" when diving - nearly every diver would do better to S-L-O-W down!