Optical connect of S2000 to Ikelite S95 housing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

svbravo

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I'm a newbie to UW photog, so bear with me if this has been discussed earlier.

I've just purchased an S2000 w/ Ikelite housing for Canon S95.
The optical cable seems to attach to the white camera "shield" that is held by a ring around the lens port of the housing. This shield is free to rotate around the lens, which moves the end of the cable away from the front of the internal flash area.

In general, the system seems very "mickey mouse", or Rube Goldberg like. Am I doing something wrong, or is there a better way to anchor the cut end of the optical cable to the camera housing other than the whacky shield that comes w/ the Ikelite?

All else w/ the system seems tight and well engineered...this one issue seems out of place.

Thanks for any help
Adam

Did your FO cable come with velcro? I've had good luck with using the adhesive velcro to stick the FO cable directly to the Ikelite housing (in front of where the flash pops up) with my s90. This also blocks enough of the pop-up flash's light that the white shield isn't necessary.

I think you're right, though--I'm growing increasingly convinced that fiber-optic connections for strobes are just plain inelegant.

OK, Ron...I'll bite
How? I'd like to blank out the camera strobe to avoid backscatter (which the Ikelite shield does), while still allowing the S2000 to pick up the camera flash. Not sure how to do it w/o using a cable.